Strict Standards: Declaration of tie_mega_menu_walker::start_el() should be compatible with Walker_Nav_Menu::start_el(&$output, $item, $depth = 0, $args = Array, $id = 0) in /home/widncr/public_html/wp-content/themes/indiandiasporaclub/functions.php on line 76
Eighth Pravasi Bharatiya Divas (PBD) 7-9 January, 2010 held at New Delhi | Indian Diaspora Club
Notice: Undefined index: font in /home/widncr/public_html/wp-content/themes/indiandiasporaclub/functions/common-scripts.php on line 133

Notice: Undefined variable: sidebar_pos in /home/widncr/public_html/wp-content/themes/indiandiasporaclub/header.php on line 94
Home » Eighth Pravasi Bharatiya Divas (PBD) 7-9 January, 2010 held at New Delhi

Eighth Pravasi Bharatiya Divas (PBD) 7-9 January, 2010 held at New Delhi


Pravasi Bharatiya Divas (PBD) convention is the flagship event of the Ministry organized every year in January since 2003, with a view to connect India to its vast Indian diaspora and bringing their knowledge, expertise and skills on a common platform.

The 8th edition of the Pravasi Bharatiya Divas convention was held in New Delhi from 7th to 9th January, 2010. The Convention was organised in partnership with the Government of NCT of Delhi. The Confederation of Indian Industry (CII) was the institutional partner. It was inaugurated by the Prime Minister on 08.01.2010 and the valedictory address was delivered by the President on 09.01.2010. The President also conferred the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award on 14 distinguished PIOs/NRIs. Lord Khalid Hameed CBE DL Hampstead was the Chief Guest.

The two-day convention saw a RECORD PARTICIPATION OF OVER 1500 DELEGATES. These included 16 Members of the Prime Minister’s Global Advisory Council and 8 PIO Ministers, besides 12 Union Ministers and 5 Chief Ministers and other Indian and PIO dignitaries.

The flagship event of the Ministry was widely acclaimed as a grand success both for its organizational aspects and its substantive content, as also for the choice of speakers and the topicality of the themes chosen for deliberation at its various sessions. The two pre-conference seminars on “Nanotechnology” and “Property-related issues of overseas Indians” drew enthusiastic participation of all stake-holders and came in for appreciation from several quarters. The first meeting of the Prime Minister’s Global Advisory Council was another highlight of this year’s megaevent.

The Convention had three Plenary Sessions – Diaspora: Role and Expectations, Diaspora: Interests and Concerns & Skills Development; six concurrent sessions – Returning to 9% Growth: Diaspora Connect , Leveraging Knowledge Networks: Global-Ink, Thousands of Fireflies: Diaspora Philanthropy, Diaspora Women in Cross- Cultural Environments, Indians and the Gulf and Future of PBDs and the Road Ahead as well as separate State Sessions.


  • Record participation over 1500 delegates
  • Attendance by a host of dignitaries from abroad
  • Inauguration of an online portal developed by OIFC by Prime Minister
  • First meeting of Global Advisory Council of Overseas Indians chaired by PM
  • Three Plenary sessions, six concurrent sessions besides separate State Sessions
  • Two pre-conferences seminars on ‘Nano-technology’ and ‘Propertyrelated issues of Overseas Indians’.


The Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award (PBSA) is conferred on a Non- Resident Indian, Person of Indian origin or an organization or institution established and run by the Non-Resident Indians or Persons of Indian Origin, who have excelled in one’s field for outstanding work which has enhanced India’s prestige in the country of residence and who has made (i) significant contribution towards better understanding abroad of India and support to India’s causes and concerns in a tangible way; (ii) significant contribution for the welfare of diaspora; (iii) notable contribution in philanthropic and charitable work and for social and humanitarian causes in India and abroad; (iv) significant contribution in building closer links between India and its diaspora in the economic, cultural and scientific fields; and (v) for eminence in his skills which has enhanced India’s prestige in that country (for nonprofessional workers). It is conferred by the President of India as a part of the Pravasi Bharatiya Divas (PBD) conferences organized annually since 2003. PBSA is the highest honour conferred on overseas Indians. PBSA 2010 were conferred on the following:

1. Mr. Mohinder Singh Bhullar

2. Mr. Yanktesh Permal Reddy

3. Mr. Ryuko Hira

4. (Mrs) Dr. Ruby Umesh Pawankar

5. Mr. Suresh Kumar Virmani

6. Mr. Pravin Jamnadas Gordhan

7. Dr. Tholisiah Perumal Naidoo

8. Dr. Rajni Kanabar

9. Mr. Deepak Mittal

10. Dr. Lenny Krishendath Saith

11. Dr. Azad Moopen

12. Dr. Mani Lal Bhaumik

13. Mr. Ashok Kumar Mago

14. Mr. Upendra J. Chivukula

3rd Regional Pravasi Bharatiya Divas, Hague, Netherlands

The third in the series called ‘PBD Europe’ was held at the World Forum in The Hague on 19.09.009. The event was organized in partnership with the Municipality of The Hague. The Foundation for Critical Choices for India (FCCI), Netherlands India Association (NIA), Netherlands Chapter of GOPIO, UJALA Association of Surinamese people and EEKTA Association of Surinamese people were the Netherlands-based organizations which participated in the event.